for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Graphic 10 is part of a series of Freedman’s compositions that pay homage to the visual arts. Like its predecessor Graphic 8, this piece was inspired by Henri Matisse’s 1947 limited-edition art book Jazz, which contained prints of many of the artist’s brightly coloured cut-paper collages of figures in silhouette. The particular images that inspired Graphic 10 depict several individual dancers engaged in wild gyrations; Freedman seeks in this piece to express their spirit through his music. Incorporating instrumental virtuosity and collectively chanted texts, this engaging composition is vibrantly alive with the aural colours that are so characteristic of Freedman’s work, and that so well reflect his strong affinity for the dynamic energy of Matisse’s art. 

Performed by:
Max Christie, clarinet
Robert Cram, flute
Simon Docking, piano
Annalee Patipatanakoon, violin
Roman Borys, cello